To the dude who called me lazy for taking the elevator

pain-points-smallerI’ve been diagnosed with juvenile onset osteo arthritis when I was 18. This form of arthritis is also known as the old’s people disease and makes my joints age twice as fast as me. I cannot remember what it feels like to get out of a chair or walk for more than 5m without feeling pain. These days I’m feeling blessed if only my knees hurt. Today is not a blessed day. Today, all of my joints hurt. Whether it be my shoulders, my knees, my ankles, my fingers, my elbows, my jaw, my … Each and every single one hurts. So today, I got to work on pure willpower. With hands too painful to hold my steering wheel. A locked jaw. Shoulders that feel like somebody put 100kg on them. A neck I can barely move. Knees and ankles swollen to twice their size. And tears in my eyes from trying so hard. So yes, I will take the elevator, and no I refuse to feel bad about it, whatever you say or think!

One thought on “To the dude who called me lazy for taking the elevator

Leave a Reply

